Article 79 – The Supreme Court

1. The Court has jurisdiction over the entire territory of Catalonia, is the highest judicial body in all areas, and will be composed of five Chambers with exclusive separate jurisdiction: criminal Law, Civil Law, Social Law, Contentious-Administrative Law and Constitutional Law.

2. Each of the Supreme Court chambers consists of five members elected by the General Council of the Judiciary. Candidates must be judges or prestigious jurists.

3. The Supreme Court’s role shall consist in unifying doctrine and developing jurisprudence.