Article 36 – Territorial Organization and Administration

1. The region is the basic administrative division.

2. To ensure the maximum efficiency of public services, the Catalan State shall consist of seven jurisdictions. The law will determine their extent and specific competences.

3. The districts are divided into municipalities, which may freely be grouped together with a view to providing a better service to the community.